Joint Interschool and Intervarsity Regatta Newsletter, 13 Feb 2020

Dear sailors,

Just a few sailors sailed the third and fourth races to conclude the Summer Series. First place in the Laser Fleet goes to Matt van Rensburg, with Tim Mundy in second. Ralph Hodgen sailed three races to win the Open Fleet on his Finn, while Adam Jones remains undefeated in the Tera class.

In contrast to the small fleet at home, RYC put in a good showing at the Knysna Interclub, winning once again, even though we seconded a handful of our sailors to other clubs!

Important news is the change to the annual interschools regatta to include university and college students. The 44th edition of this annual event will be sailed on 7 & 8 March. Entry is just R150 per competitor, which includes lunch and tea. Camping at RYC is free of charge. The regatta is open to all mono-hull dinghies. The only class restrictions apply to the Novice Junior School and Junior School entries. Details can be found on the flyer that is attached.

If you have not already done so, you have a couple of weeks to organise your school, university or college team. The latter can be interpreted quite broadly to include any young people taking a gap year or enrolled at the University of Life! The addition of young adults and students should liven things up!

Please get you entries to Pam Millar @, preferably by 1 March so that catering can be arranged.

Don’t forget the changes to the sailing programme mentioned last week: The Line Honours Race will be sailed on 23 February, with the start not before 14h00, and the new 10-hour endurance will be sailed at RYC on Saturday 28 March, from 10h00 to 20h00.

Lastly, there will be sailing on Sunday: The first day of the Special Trophy will start 10am or later. Forecast is 8 to 14 knots of wind from the north west.

All the best, Charles